Skip to content

Kayo Dot’s 7th studio record “Hubardo” to be released this fall

March 23, 2013

One of New York’s most exiting avant-prog projects during the last decade, Kayo Dot and their mastermind Toby Driver, will hit the studio this April to record their 7th studio record which will be the direct successor of last year’s Gamma Knife. The record will be released this fall, celebrating the 10th anniversary of the release of their first record Choirs of the Eye.

The announcements raise the standards pretty high and their claim is that Hubardo will be nothing less than an “epic double-album prog masterwork” which will be “the best thing” they’ve ever worked on – well, that’s a word so why not preorder to help the band financing the recording sessions and find out what better could come after Coyote?

Many questions have been raised in connection with the release strategy since they’re providing the record in 3 different versions:

  • – a deluxe 3 LP package with colored 200g vinyl which comes in triple fold out cover and some devotional objects like a signed poster, t-shirt, guitar pick etc. limited to 300 copies
  • – a standard LP version which is somehow more limited than the deluxe edition (200 copies)
  • – digital download

One question immediately popping up is Why will there be no CD version? The answer is that according to Toby Driver less than 30 copies of the CD editions of Gamma Knife were sold (even though it’s for low money on amazon…) so pressing a CD issue would be a too high financial risk – but: if enough of you guys demand a CD version there will be one.

Coming back to the album itself, it will be a 90-minute conceptual epic double-album and will musically cover the whole spectrum of the band’s previous work who also swelled up to an epic line up: Toby Driver on Bass, Keys, Guitars and Vocals, Terran Olson on Keys and Woodwinds, Daniel Means on Woodwinds and Synth, Mia Matsumiya on violin, Tim Byrnes on Trumpet and Horn in F, the first proper studio recording with Keith Abrams on drums, and the first recording contribution of longtime live collaborator Ron Varod on Guitar. Also, the album will feature Jason Byron on Vocals, his first recorded material since the 2001’s Maudlin of the Well records.

The tracklisting will be

  1. The Black Stone
  2. Crown-In-The-Muck
  3. Thief
  4. Vision Adjustment To Another Wavelength
  5. Zodelida Caosaji (To Water The Earth)
  6. The First Matter (Saturn In The Guise Of Sadness)
  7. The Second Operation (Lunar Water)
  8. Floodgate
  9. And He Built Him A Boat
  10. Passing The River
  11. The Wait Of The World

so go and pre-order at


Update: there’s a 13 minute teaser to the record! Find it at


From → News

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: